Minutes of the Extraordinary Floodplain Risk Management Advisory Committee held on Thursday 2 September 2021.




Councillor Greg Conkey OAM              Wagga Wagga City Council

Councillor Vanessa Keenan                Wagga Wagga City Council

Councillor Rod Kendall                         Wagga Wagga City Council

Councillor Tim Koschel                         Wagga Wagga City Council

Jenny Rolfe                                             Community Member

Ros Prangnell                                        Community Member

Patricia Murray                                       Community Member

Brian Mahony                                         Community Member





Peter Thompson                                    General Manager (WWCC)

Steve Manwaring                                   Department Planning, Industry & Environment

Fin Martin                                                Manager Local land Services

Warren Faulkner                                    Director Infrastructure Services

Janice Summerhayes                           Director Community Service

Peter Ross                                              Manager Technical and Strategy

Sam Robins                                            Town Planner

Andrew Mason                                       Project Manager

Michael Friend                                        Co-opted Community Member

Fiona Ziff                                                 Co-opted Community Member

Scott Gray                                               Chief Operating Officer

Joe McGirr                                               Member for Wagga Wagga

Olivia Jones                                            Executive Assistant (Minute Taker)


The meeting of the Extraordinary Floodplain Risk Management Advisory Committee commenced at 8:30am.

Acknowledgement Of Country

I would like to acknowledge the Wiradjuri people who are the Traditional Custodians of this Land. I would also like to pay respect to the Elders both past and present of the Wiradjuri Nation and extend that respect to other Community members present.

Declarations Of Interest



Reports from Staff

RP-1          PROJECT UPDATES -  2 September 2021



On the motion of Councillor R Kendall and P Muarry

That the Committee:

a)    Note and receive the report 


Andrew Mason: Food Study Early Warning System project, Council and consultant to conduct an interactive workshop, however, this will be dependent on COVID restrictions. There has been an extension of time requested from DPIE.

The data for the Village overland Flow and Floodplain Study and Plan has been received by Council, the data for Major Overland Flood Flow Risk Management Study and Plan should arrive this week.

 Council adopted the last FRMAC Minutes, which included the Final VOFFS and MOFFS Report.  The reports are planned to go the Council meeting on 27/09/21 for adoption

RP-2          Murrumbidgee Airspace Reference Panel



On the motion of Councillor R Kendall and B Mahony 

That the Committee:

a)    Note and receive the report

b)   A consideration of Committee representation on the panel be deferred to the new term of Council

c)    FRMAC continued to be updated on a routine basis by Council Staff



Andrew Mason: WaterNSW has created a new panel (Murrumbidgee Airspace Reference Panel)  of key stakeholders that will meet regularly to discuss the operation of both Burrinjuck and Blowering Dams with respect to balancing the demands of power generation, irrigators and flood mitigation. The aim of the group is gain an understanding of the operational requirements and objectives  of both WaterNSW and Snowy Hydro  and for WaterNSW to gain an understanding of the downstream repercussions of their actions. This is the second group of this type formed in NSW, the first being on the Lachlan River and while the membership may evolve over time, the plan is for this group to meet consistently over an extended period of time and a communication flow and knowledge transfer to be developed and implemented. This is a fortnightly meeting, and minutes are produced.

Councillor Kendall: That the Committee defer this decision until the Local Government Elections and return of the new Council.




No Questions With Notice were received.


CONF-1    Peer Review of the Wagga Wagga Floodplain Risk Management Study & Plan 2018



On the motion of Councillor R Kendall and B Mahony 

That the Committee:

a)    receive and note the report

b)   recommend the BMT report titled ‘Review of Wagga Wagga Floodplain Risk Management Study & Plan’ be referred to WMA Water to address and update the Flood Damages Assessment and Flood Risk Management issues associated with the Plan (FRMS&P 2018) as detailed in Table 7-1 of the review to enable BMT to complete its engagement.

c)    receive a further report from BMT in due course that determines if there is cause to reasonably conclude that a flood protection levee greater than a 5% AEP level of protection should be considered in the feasibility study.