

The meeting of the Riverina Regional Library Advisory Committee commenced at 9:36am.

## **PRESENT**

Cr Leigh Bowden Cootamundra-Gundagai Regional Council

Cr Cate Cross Snowy Valleys Council Cr Pam Halliburton Junee Shire Council

Cr Rod Kendall
Cr Annette Schilg
Cr Dennis Sleigh
Cr Dallas Tout
Ms Courtney Armstrong
Ms Alison Balind
Wagga Wagga City Council

Ms Miriam Crane Cootamundra-Gundagai Regional Council

Mr Tony Donoghue Coolamon Shire Council
Ms Stacy Moses Junee Shire Council
Ms Elizabeth Smith Temora Shire Concil
Mr David Smith Greater Hume Council
Ms Kristin Twomey Snowy Valleys Council
Mr Gerard Van Emmerick Federation Council
Mr Peter Veneris Lockhart Shire Council

### IN ATTENDANCE

Mr Zac Armistead Riverina Regional Library
Mr Robert Knight Riverina Regional Library
Ms Carolyn Rodney Wagga Wagga City Council
Ms Madeleine Scully Wagga Wagga City Council
Ms Janice Summerhayes Wagga Wagga City Council
Ms Karen Wendt Riverina Regional Library

### **ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF COUNTRY**

Wagga Wagga City Council and Riverina Regional Library acknowledge the traditional custodians of the land, the Wiradjuri people, and pay respect to Elders past, present and future and extend our respect to all First Nations Peoples in Wagga Wagga.

We recognise and respect their cultural heritage, beliefs and continuing connection with the land and rivers. We also recognise the resilience, strength and pride of the Wiradjuri and First Nations communities.

## **APOLOGIES**

Cr Vanessa Keenan Wagga Wagga City Council
Cr Greg Verdon Lockhart Shire Council
Ms Amy Heap Riverina Regional Library
Mr Peter Thompson Wagga Wagga City Council

#### Resolved

On the motion of Cr Rod Kendall and Cr Annette Schilg

That the Apologies of the Riverina Regional Library Advisory Committee meeting held on 31 March 2021 be received and accepted.

**CARRIED** 

## **REPORTS FROM STAFF**

# RP-1 CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES OF THE RRL ADVISORY COMMITTEE MEETING HELD 31 MARCH 2021

#### Resolved

On the motion of Mr Peter Veneris and Mr Tony Donoghue

That the Committee endorse the minutes of the Riverina Regional Library Advisory Committee meeting held on 31 March 2021 as a true and accurate record.

**CARRIED** 

# RP-2 CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES OF THE RRL ADVISORY COMMITTEE EXTRAORDINARY MEETING HELD 22 JULY 2021

#### Resolved

On the motion of Ms Alison Balind and Cr Rod Kendall

That the Committee endorse the minutes of the Riverina Regional Library Advisory Committee Extraordinary meeting held on 22 July 2021 as a true and accurate record.

# RP-3 RRL ADVISORY COMMITTEE AND EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE DELEGATE ELECTIONS

#### Resolved

On the motion of Ms Courtney Armstrong and Mr Tony Donoghue

That the Committee endorse the postponement of RRL Advisory Committee and Executive Committee elections until the meeting following the NSW Local Government elections in December 2021.

**CARRIED** 

### RP-4 CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER REPORT

#### Resolved

On the motion of Mr David Smith and Mr Peter Veneris

#### That the Committee:

- a note the final result for the year ended 30 June 2021
- b endorse the Riverina Regional Library Asset Register as at 30 June 2021
- c endorse the signing of the 2020/21 Riverina Regional Library Financial Statements pursuant to s413(2)(c) of the Local Government Act 1993
- d note the budget review for the quarter ended September 2021.

CARRIED

### RP-5 EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR REPORT

#### Resolved

On the motion of Cr Dallas Tout and Ms Annette Schild

That the Committee receive and note the report.

CARRIED

## RP-6 LIBRARY ACTIVITY STATISTICS REPORT

### Resolved

On the motion of Ms Alison Balind and Ms Elizabeth Smith

That the Committee receive and note the report.

**CARRIED** 

### RP-7 EXPRESSIONS OF INTEREST FOR RRL EXECUTIVE COUNCIL

#### Resolved

On the motion of Mr Peter Veneris and Mr David Smith

That the Committee endorse the appointment of Coolamon Shire Council as the Executive Council of the Riverina Regional Library for the period 1 July 2022 to 30 June 2026.

CARRIED

# RP-8 DELEGATIONS TO THE INCOMING RIVERINA REGIONAL LIBRARY EXECUTIVE COUNCIL

#### Resolved

On the motion of Cr Dallas Tout and Ms Elizabeth Smith

That the Committee provide a delegation to the incoming RRL Executive Council to make decisions and sign documents regarding matters pertaining to the Riverina Regional Library that take effect on or after 1 July 2022.

CARRIED

## RP-9 CENTRALISATION OF RRL ADMINSTRATION CENTRE FUNCTIONS

#### Resolved

On the motion of Mr David Smith and Ms Alison Balind

That the Committee endorse the transfer of \$15,820 from the RRL IT Development Reserve to the RRL IT Development cost centre to fund the development and purchase of in-house information technology systems.

CARRIED

# RP-10 COMPARISON BETWEEN RIVERINA REGIONAL LIBRARY AND WESTERN RIVERINA LIBRARIES MODELS

#### Resolved

On the motion of Mr Tony Donogue and Ms Elizabeth Smith

That the Committee receive and note the report.

**CARRIED** 

# RP-11 SUMMARY OF MATTERS CONSIDERED BY THE RRL ADVISORY COMMITTEE (RRL FUTURE OPERATING MODELS) WORKING PARTY

#### Resolved

On the motion of Cr Dennis Sleigh and Ms Alison Balind

That the Committee note the summary of matters considered by the RRL Future Operating Models Working Party.

CARRIED

# RP-12 SUMMARY OF MATTERS CONSIDERED BY THE RRL ADVISORY COMMITTEE (RRL ADMINISTRATION CENTRE) WORKING PARTY

#### Resolved

On the motion of Mr Tony Donoghue and Mr David Smith

#### That the Committee:

- a note the summary of matters considered by the RRL Administration Centre Working Party
- b endorse the continuation of the current lease as the most viable option for RRL Administration Centre accommodation for the foreseeable future
- c endorse the retention and growth of the RRL Building Reserve with the objective of reaching \$1m+ in funds for the purchase of a building to accommodate the RRL Administration within the next 10 years.

**CARRIED** 

### RP-13 RRL ADVISORY COMMITTEE MEETINGS 2022

#### Resolved

On the motion of Mr Elizabeth Smith and Mr Peter Veneris

That the Committee endorse the following meeting dates in Wagga Wagga during 2022:

- Wednesday 30 March 2022
- Wednesday 19 October 2022

CARRIED

### RP-14 CHRISTMAS FOOD APPEAL

#### Resolved

On the motion of Mr Alison Balind and Mr Courtney Armstrong

That the Committee endorse the 2021 Riverina Regional Library Christmas Food Appeal, for consideration by member Councils to be applied at their libraries for a four (4) week period concluding on Christmas Eve.

**CARRIED** 

## **GENERAL BUSINESS**

Nil

## **CLOSED COMMITTEE**

#### Resolved

On the motion of Cr Dallas Tout and Cr Dennis Sleigh

That the Committee now resolve itself into a closed meeting, the time being 10:22am.

**CARRIED** 

At this stage of the meeting, observers retired from the RRL Advisory Committee meeting.

Ms Carolyn Rodney, Ms Madeleine Scully and Ms Janice Summerhayes left the meeting at 10:23am.

Cr Rod Kendall elected to leave the meeting at 10:25am.

Cr Dallas Tout elected to leave the meeting at 10:26am.

# CONF-1 PROPOSED FUTURE OPERATING MODEL FOR RIVERINA REGIONAL LIBRARY

#### Resolved

On the motion of Ms Alison Balind and Cr Annette Schilg

That the Committee endorse the recommendation of the Riverina Regional Library Future Operating Models Working Party for the proposed operating model for the Riverina Regional Library for the period of the next Deed of Agreement commencing on 1 July 2022.

CARRIED

## **REVERSION TO OPEN COMMITTEE**

#### Resolved

On the motion of Mr Tony Donoghue and Cr Dennis Sleigh

That the closed meeting revert to an open meeting of the Committee, the time being 10:59am.

CARRIED

#### **CLOSE OF MEETING**

The Riverina Regional Library Advisory Committee rose at 11:02am.